How to Unblock Your Chakras

Work those Chakras!

Hopefully, you have read my previous 101 Guide to Chakras to get a basic understanding. If not, I would recommend heading over there first >>

Once you have a basic understanding of the Chakras you can choose how you wish to work with them. In this blog, I will share with you how I personally encourage energy flow and unblock stagnant energy.

There are a few ways that you can unblock your Chakras. Certain yoga poses help to unblock specific Chakras. You can also meditate, visualising a flower opening on a specific Chakra, and as you take deep breaths into that Chakra zone, visualise the Chakras corresponding coloured light flowing through your body. This is a little oversimplified as an explanation so I will explain the different ways I choose to work with my Chakras.

Meditation for Chakras

If I feel any negativity or body discomfort I try and assess which Chakra is blocked (see 101 Guide to Chakras on how to assess which Chakra is blocked). I sit cross-legged, comfortably on the floor or yoga cushion. I focus my attention on the Chakra location and take three deep breathes, breathing energy into that point. I visualise a flower (Water Lilly in my case) opening on the point of the Chakra, it emits a warm, all-encompassing light, corresponding to the Chakras colour. I allow it to immerse me in waves of light and energy. I visualise the flower starting to rotate slowly, gradually getting faster as it restarts the energy flow through my body. I breathe into this visualisation until I feel the spinning disc/flower is now powered with its own momentum. I then do an internal scan to see if I notice any other points of blockage and repeat if needed.

House of Formlab Spinning Disc Chakra

Chakra Candles

I often use Chakra candles during my meditations. The colour and specifically chosen oils included in the candle help me to focus and align with the Chakra. It also acts as a reminder in my home as to what I am working on trying to improve. If I am struggling to still my mind, I meditate with my eyes open, focusing on the flickering candle, this helps me to calm down, focus and let my mind ease into the meditation. Think of it as new age fire-gazing.

If you are new to working with your Chakras you can try doing a 7-day Chakra challenge where you work your way through the 7 Chakras over 7 days. For this, I often recommend a layered Chakra candle so you can burn a layer each day while you do your meditation or yoga work.

7 chakra candle

Chakra Malas

The word “Mala” is the Sanskrit word for “meditation garland” and the first Mala was originally created in India. A traditional Mala is a strand of 108 beads that are made with a large bead at the lowest hanging point, called a Guru Bead, and a tassel. It is a deeply spiritual meditation tool that has been used for over 3000 years to keep the mind focused.

They were originally used in a form of meditation called Japa, which means, “to recite.” Mantras would be recited per bead as it passes between the fingers. They were held in the right hand with the stand hanging over the middle finger. The tumb was then used to pull the beads over the finger, one at a time. The index finger represents ego, and therefore should not touch the Mala during meditation.

I use this technique in my own meditations however, instead of reciting mantras, I use my Malas to focus my mind and steady my breathing. I have a large personal collection of Malas which I love to wear and meditate with. I find I am drawn to which Mala I need at the time. I meditate on love, healing and enlightenment before I perform spells or to protect myself during a tarot reading.

When I am feeling my Chakras need some work I often combine my 7 Chakra Mala with my meditations. I hold the corresponding crystal beads while I focus on a particular Chakra. For total imbalance I work my way through the whole Mala focusing on each different Chakra as that section of beads passes through my fingers. I then wear my 7 Chakra Mala for at least a few days afterwards to allow the crystals and energy work to have the best effect.

7 Chakra Mala Short Necklace

Crystals for Chakras

I generally use crystals for unblocking my Chakras in combination with meditation. For the Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, and Third Eye Chakra I lay on a yoga mat so that the crystal can rest on my body on the Chakra point. I find this makes it easier for me to focus. For the Crown Chakra, I place the crystal on top of my head while in a seated position. This is personal preference, you may choose to remain in a seated position for all Chakra meditations and simply hold the crystal on the Chakra point.

Start by choosing a crystal that corresponds to your blocked Chakra:

1. ROOT CHAKRA = Red Jasper, Hematite, Smoky Quartz, Amphibole, Shungite, Obsidian
2. SACRAL CHAKRA = Aragonite, Carnelian, Copper, Orange Calcite, Sunstone
3. SOLAR PLEXUS CHAKRA = Crystals: Honey Calcite, Citrine, Pyrite, Golden Healer, Amber
4. HEART CHAKRA = Aventurine, Amazonite, Epidote, Jade, Kambaba Jasper, Malachite, Moldavite, Rose Quartz, Rhodochrosite, Pink Opal, Rhodonite, Mangano Calcite
5. THROAT CHAKRA = Aquamarine, Blue Lace Chalcedony, Celestine, Chrysocolla, Chrysoprase, Angel Blue Calcite
6. THIRD EYE CHAKRA = Amethyst, Azurite, Apatite, Blue Kyanite, Fluorite, Labradorite, Lapis Lazuli, Lepidolite, Shttuckite, Sodalite
7. CROWN CHAKRA = Amethyst, Ametrine, Apophyllite, Clear Quartz, Howlite, Lemurian Quartz, Rutilated Quartz, Selenite, Spirit Quartz

Ask the crystal if it will help you to restart your Chakra. Give yourself time to feel the vibrations of the crystal, try and tune your own energy to the crystal so that you feel on the same energy wavelength. Get into the position you have chosen for your Chakra meditation, place the crystal on your body or hold it over the Chakra point and begin your meditation (see above). When you have completed your meditation remember to thank the crystal for its help. Place the crystal somewhere visible to remind you of what you are trying to rebalance. Remember to cleanse your crystal with water, Selenite or in the Full Moon before you use it again for another purpose.

If you would like to take a deep dive into the wonderous array of crystals that you can use with your Chakras, then I would recommend the Crystal Companion book by Judy Hall. It contains over 300 crystals, and each one explains which Chakra it is connected to and what metaphysical properties the crystal exudes. That way you can select a crystal that matches both the Chakra and any specific issues you are working on, or positivity you wish to manifest in your healing work.

House of Formlab Crystal companion by Judy Hall

Yoga for Chakras

Again I start with trying to assess where things are blocked and practice holding the corresponding Yoga pose. Alternatively, if I’m just feeling a little out of sorts, but I can’t quite put my finger on it, I run through the Yoga poses from Root to Crown, holding each pose as long as it is comfortable. I have to admit though I now do the Child pose for the Crown Chakra!

Here are the top yoga poses to unblock your Chakras:
2. SACRAL CHAKRA = Goddess
5. THROAT CHAKRA = Supported Shoulder Stand
6. THIRD EYE CHAKRA = Downward-Facing Dog
7. CROWN CHAKRA = Headstand or Child Pose if a headstand is not possible


I hope you enjoyed my blog, it is of course my personal experience working with Chakras so go forth and explore and find your path to self-healing.

Love and crystal blessings,

Madame Formtastica

House of Formlab


One reply on “How to Unblock Your Chakras

  • Amanda Vance

    Thank you so much for all of your help. I need to unblock my heart chakra and my feet qi is blocked as well

Comments are closed.